Rural-based charities a little richer with the help of Canadian farmers and the Bayer Fund’s Canada’s Farmers Grow Communities Program

Calgary, AB. – Dec. 15, 2021 – Sixty-six (66) charities and not-for profit groups across Canada have each received a $2,500 community grant to improve the lives of people in their communities thanks to nominations from Canadian farmers.
In mid-November, the Canada’s Farmers Grow Communities (CFGC) program (, supported by the Bayer Fund, completed its random draw and awarded the winning charities and not-for-profits with a total of $165,000 in funding to support their work and community projects.
The Bayer Fund is a non-profit organization dedicated to strengthening the communities where Bayer customers and employees live and work by providing funding for food and nutrition, education, and community development projects.  
“There is so much need for financial support in rural communities across our country, whether it’s to rebuild community infrastructure or deliver important programming for youth, adults and seniors,” said Trish Jordan, senior business partner, government and industry affairs with Bayer’s Crop Science division. “It’s great to see farmers engage in the program and recommend charities and not-for-profits in their community who are really doing the important work that makes life better for rural residents.”
First introduced in 2012, the 2021 CFGC program received almost 700 farmer applications and charity suggestions.
The program received many suggestions from farmers about how local groups in their communities could benefit from the grants, with recreation; community improvement projects; agricultural societies; fire and health organizations; and rural daycares garnering the most support.
Farmers living and working in the Maritimes, Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and Northeastern B.C. had from mid-January to the end of September to submit their entries by visiting the Canada’s Farmers website and completing an online application form.  
To read more community stories or gather additional information about Canada’s Farmers Grow Communities visit or follow on Twitter @CanadasFarmers.
About Bayer  
Bayer is a global enterprise with core competencies in the life science fields of health care and nutrition. Its products and services are designed to help people and planet thrive by supporting efforts to master the major challenges presented by a growing and aging global population. Bayer is committed to drive sustainable development and generate a positive impact with its businesses. At the same time, the Group aims to increase its earning power and create value through innovation and growth. The Bayer brand stands for trust, reliability and quality throughout the world. For more information on Bayer in Canada, visit


Note: A complete listing of all 66 winning entrants, their farmer nominator and their community, is detailed below.


Altario Agriculture Education
Natasha Pospisil, Kirriemuir
Bawlf & District Lions Club
Kathleen Tennant, Bawlf
Brooks & District Child Development Society
Tanya Jaques, Buffalo
Cherry Canyon Agricultural Society
Chad Johnson, Cherry Point
East Central Rustlers 4-H
Brian Harris, Bashaw
Edgerton Splash Park Project
Elaine Withnell, Edgerton
Fort Saskatchewan Ukrainian Dance Association
Leona Mychajlunow, Parkland County
Friends of Morrin School
Marty Gridley, Morrin
Heritage Ag Society
Yvonne Kuchta, Spruce Grove
Imagination Library – Flagstaff County
Stuart McMahon, Galahad
Kathryn School
Meghan Lintick, Rocky View County
Killam & District Health Care Foundation
Norma Jean Bieleny, Killam
Lesser Slave Watershed Council
Susan Nielsen, Enilda
Mannville Agricultural Society
Ryan McLaughlin, Mannville
Milk River Community School Enhancement Society
Bob Wills, Coutts
Saskatoon Lake Community Centre
Deb Polasek, Grande Prairie
The 40 Mile Park Foundation
Brent Reimer, Bow Island



Bellevue Personal Care Home
Donald Gaudet, Bellevue
Big River Golf Club
Clifton Amundson, Debden
Bill Brecht Park Upgrade Ltd
Tyler Knaus, Humboldt
Bresaylor Heritage Museum
Mia Fairley, Baldwinton
Centre 48 Arts and Education Inc.
Andrea Kotylak, Kendal
Conquest Rink
Wendy Manson, Outlook
Cosmopolitan Learning Centre
Joe & Myrna Frank, Fort Qu’Appelle

Drake Park Revitalization Project
Trevor Blair, Drake

Eastend Swimming Pool
Devin Taylor, Eastend
Gasper Family Foundation
Brett Sinclair, Rosetown
Glaslyn & District Recreation Board
Bethany Cadrain, Glaslyn
Kaminski Arena
Gene Paridaen, Langenburg
Kelliher Parkland Library
Mark Petras, Kelliher
Liberty Memorial Hall
Quinn Wolff, Liberty
Little Legacy Learning Centre
Helena Olson,  Plenty
Melfort Agricultural Society
Sharon Heavin, Melfort 

Mortlach School
Celine Hicks, Parkbeg

Old Coronach Street Festival
Courtney Setrum, Coronach
Osler Fire Department
Gary Boldt, Osler
Preeceville Bike & Skate Playground
Cory Paul, Preeceville
Randy Clark Legacy Fund
Brenda Stringer,  Wolseley
Three Lakes Childcare Centre
William Baumann, St. Benedict
Tisdale Wildlife Federation
Sandra Gronvold, Tisdale



Acres for Hamiota
Blair Charlton, Kenton
Heros Alliance
Tracy Neurenburg, Lac du Bonnet
Holland Childcare Centre
Andrew Devloo, Bruxelles
Niverville Health Community Foundation
Rick Friesen, Niverville
Oak River Playground
Penny Froese, Oak River
Oakville Tiny Tots Nursery School
Andrea Miller, Oakville
Russell’s Lots-a-Tots Inc.
Greg & Cathy Setter, Russell
Sperling Community Centre
Jason Dunn, Carman
Valley Life Recreation
Stewart Boyd, Minnedosa




Camp Bimini
Golda Wilson, St Mary’s
Crochet Club of London
Betty  Siddall, Lucan
CYO Camp Marydale
Michael Chechalk, St. Anns
Growing for our Community Garden
Kelli-An DeCook, Muirkirk
London Health Sciences Foundation
Jay Curtis, St. Thomas
Moore Agricultural Society
Jessica Riedal, Wallaceburg
St. Joseph’s Kingsbridge Community
Jennifer Miltenburg, Lucknow
The Delta Mill Society
Pamela Cairncross, Elgin
The Heart of Hastings Hospice
Alan Coxwell, Stirling
Toronto Black Farmers & Growers Collective
Jaqueline Dwyer, Toronto
Hemmingford Volunteer Fire Department
Joshua Kyle, Hemmingford
COOP de Solidarité et Santé de la Famille
Jason Ness, Howick
Ormstown Elementary School
Gerry Nieuwenhof, Dundee
Starlight Children’s Foundation Canada
Jacques Brazeau, St. Redempteur



Heatherdale Community Club Inc.
Wade Loane, Kilmuir, PEI
Kings County 4-H Council
Marc Pyle, Aylesford, NS