Bayer supports 66 rural-based Canadian charities with $165,000

Calgary, AB. – Nov. 17, 2022 – Sixty-six (66) charities and not-for profit groups across Canada will each receive a $2,500 community grant to improve the lives of people in their communities, thanks to nominations from Canadian farmers.

In mid-November, the Canada’s Farmers Grow Communities (CFGC) program (, supported by Bayer Crop Science Canada, completed its random draw and awarded the winning charities and not-for-profits with a total of $165,000 in funding to support their work and community projects. 


Jocelyn Bender, a 29-year employee of the Swan Valley School division, was grateful to hear their project to build a counselling library was selected after Faith Martin, a farmer from Benito, Manitoba put forward their nomination. “We are so thankful to Faith for the nomination,” said Bender. “Faith and I are from the same agriculture community, and she is an active parent in the school community. She is aware of the several challenges that children in our division face, which include mental health challenges. I am very excited to create a Counselling Library for our Student Services Department and provide support to students and families.”


“This is such a rewarding program when you see all the worthy projects and community organizations seeking support,” said Trish Jordan, senior business partner, government and industry affairs with Bayer’s Crop Science division. “It was clear this year that many community groups are recovering from two-years of Covid-related non-activity and farmers were very active in putting forth applications for consideration.” 

First introduced in 2012, the 2022 CFGC program received over 700 farmer applications and charity suggestions, similar in volume to previous years. 

The program received many suggestions from farmers about how local groups in their communities could benefit from the grants, with recreation; community improvement projects; agricultural societies; fire and health organizations; and rural daycares garnering the most support. 

Farmers living and working in the Maritimes, Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and Northeastern B.C. had from mid-January to September 30th to submit their entries by visiting the Canada’s Farmers website and completing an online application form.  

To read more community stories or gather additional information about Canada’s Farmers Grow Communities visit or on Twitter @CanadasFarmers

About Bayer  
Bayer is a global enterprise with core competencies in the life science fields of health care and nutrition. Its products and services are designed to help people and planet thrive by supporting efforts to master the major challenges presented by a growing and aging global population. Bayer is committed to drive sustainable development and generate a positive impact with its businesses. At the same time, the Group aims to increase its earning power and create value through innovation and growth. The Bayer brand stands for trust, reliability and quality throughout the world. For more information on Bayer in Canada, visit

Note: A complete listing of all 66 winning entrants, their farmer nominator and their community, is detailed below.


A.G. Ross Arena
Allen Smyl, Mallaig
Bellis 4-H Beef Club
Kelly Montgomery, Smoky Lake
Bezanson Agricultural Society
Bryan Fenton, Bezanson
Calmar Elementary School PTA
Russell Kushinski, Calmar 
Claresholm Animal Rescue Society
Faye Knudson, Claresholm
DeBolt and District Pioneer Museum Society
Marvin Moore, DeBolt 
Falher and Area Beautification and Leisure Activities Society       
Brandon Lefebvre, Girouxville
Farming Smarter Association
Ryan Mercer, Lethbridge County
Innisfree School Financial Society 
Carmen Kassian, Innisfree
KAC Lions Club
Natasha Pospisil, Kirriemuir
Kneehill Adult Learning Society     
Sara Weigum, Three Hills 
Langdon Library Society     
Corrie Carrobourg, Langdon
Sharebear Playschool Society
Kelsey Wilson, Big Valley
Snake Valley Drop-In Centre 
Ian Godkin, Milo
Soaring Eagle Support Society   
Samantha Churchill, Whitecourt
Société Des Amis De L’école Héritage 
Denise Maisonneuve, Guy
Society of the Friends of 
Daysland School Council     

Laura Zwack, Daysland 
Vegreville Preschool Association
Jef & Taylor Ziegler, Vegreville 



Aberdeen Composite School
Brad Kinar, Aberdeen
Birch Hills & District Recreation Board
Stewart Adams, Birch Hills
Canadian Mental Health Association Moose Jaw Branch
Ryan Hennenfent, Caronport
Canora Composite School
Tracey & Rob Bletsky, Canora
Expressway Family Centre
Carole Stewart, Oxbow
Great Sandhills Historical Society Inc.
Christine Armstrong, Sceptre
The Hanley Agricultural Society
Ashley Thall, Hanley
Hepburn Before and After School Inc.
Brendan Klassen, Hepburn
La Pouponniere Co-operative Daycare
Nicolas Ferre, Zenon Park
Lemberg Volunteer Fire Dept.
Dennis Clarke, Lemberg
Macklin Soccer Association
Kelly Kidd, Macklin
Major Play Pals Playschool
Sharon Stang, Luceland
Muenster Green Space Project
Lee Bergermann, Muenster
Palliser Regional Park
Trevor Giullaume, Moose Jaw
Raymore Community Daycare
Scott Felton, Raymore
Rivier Elementary School
Kristin Turgeon, Spiritwood
Sonningdale Volunteer Firefighters Assoc.
Shelley Andrews, Asquith
Southey Communiplex
Lisa Grudnizki, Southey
Springside Family Resource Centre
Nicole Fredrickson, Theodore
St. Vital School Community Council
David Blais, Delmas
Tantallon Memorial Recreational Co-op
Stefan Arnason, Tantallon
Watson Soccer
Jeffrey Mathieson, Watson
Weyburn Agricultural Society
Jeff Clay, Weyburn



Arnaud Community Improvement Committee
Jennifer Delaquis, Arnaud
Boyne Regional Library
Tim Koster, Carman
Cypress River Multi-purpose Community Centre
Riley Parsonage, Baldur
Expanding Community Cancer Care
Greg Setter, Russell
Manitoba Farmer Wellness Program
Sandi Knight, Macdonald
Souris Glenwood Parks and Recreation 
Lauren Somersall, Souris
Southwest Seniors Housing Inc.
George Heide, Boissevain
Swan Valley School Division Counselling Library
Faith Martin, Benito 
Wee World Daycare Inc.
Katlyn Richaud, Portage la Prairie



GROW Community Food Literacy Centre
Esther Lucier, Niagara-on-the-Lake
Kawartha Antique Power
Betty Archer, Little Britian
Lennox and Addington 4-H Dairy Club
Madeline Fretts, Bath
Meals On Wheels, Chatham-Kent
Gary Noorenberghe, Thamesville
Optimist Club Of Mornington
Markus & Pia Daetwyler, Atwood
Ottawa Valley Seed Growers Association
Michael Doelman, Douglas
Perth 4-H Association
Carolyn van der Heiden, Listowel
St. Patricks Kinkora Playground Project
Johanna Nienhuis, Sebringville
Tavistock Assistance Program
Paul Brenneman, Tavistock
Three Oaks Cabin
Diane Bergsma, Florence
Hemmingford Volunteer Fire Department
Joshua Kyle, Hemmingford
Huntingdon Legion
Brigette Madlener Nieuwenhof, Dundee
Shawville 4-H Club
Kayla McCann, Shawville
Starlight Children’s Foundation Canada
Jacques Brazeau, Très St. Rédempteur



Kings County 4-H Council
Marc Pyle, Aylesford, NS
KidSport Nova Scotia
Geneve Newcomb, Port Williams, NS